Lab Members

Derek Mitchell, PhD, Lab Director

cropped picture DM

 

 

 

 

 

Lindsay Oliver, PhD Candidate

img8

My research is focused on social cognition and emotional processing in patients with frontotemporal dementia and the healthy population. I am particularly interested in function and dysfunction in empathic responding, and delineating and characterizing behavioural and neural correlates of different facets of empathy, and emotional processing. I am also a recipient of the Alzheimer Society London and Middlesex Doctoral Award and Queen Elizabeth II Graduate Scholarship in Science and Technology.

Stephen Pierzchajlo

I am interested in the functional connectivity and neuroanatomical correlates of emotional processes and emotion regulation. I am also interested in the application of different neuromodulatory techniques to investigate questions about neurocognitive processes and neuropsychiatric disorders. Currently I am investigating the effects of emotional distractors on attentional abilities and how they manifest behaviourally, as well as how these distractors are correlated with brain activity.

Tamara Tavares, PhD Candidate 

Lab_pictureFinalBroadly, my research is focused on social cognitive processing in clinical and healthy populations. I am currently investigating the neural correlates of emotional processing and decision making deficits in patients with Frontotemporal Dementia and individuals who are at-risk for developing this disorder. Furthermore, I am interested in emotional attention and how mood influences emotion-cognition interactions. I am also a recipient of the NSERC CGS-Doctoral award.

 

Joana Vieira, Postdoctoral Fellow

lab website 2 My research aims to characterize the neural mechanisms implicated in basic emotional processes (e.g. fear), and how disruptions in those mechanisms give rise to abnormal patterns of social functioning. I am particularly interested in understanding the emotional and empathic deficits associated with psychopathy and antisocial behaviour.  I am the recipient of a BMI Cognitive Neuroscience fellowship and will start a CIHR Postdoctoral fellowship in the Fall.

Siobhan Schenk, Volunteer 

IMG_20160510_130104-2I am currently working on experiments concerning the effects of aversive stimuli and stress on cognitive abilities.I am currently working on experiments concerning the effects of aversive stimuli and stress on cognitive abilities.I am currently working on experiments concerning the effects of aversive stimuli and stress on cognitive abilities.I am currently working on experiments concerning the effects of aversive stimuli and   

Gabrielle Brook, Volunteer 

IMG_20160510_125811

I am working on experiments examining how emotions triggered by aversive stimuli affect cognition and human performance.      …………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..

Past Members

James Kryklywy, PhD 

informal_jkMy research considers how emotional information is represented within neurocognitive systems involved in sensory processing, how this information is incorporated into perceptual experience, and how this information impacts interaction with the immediate environment. I am particularly interested in the dissociable effects of emotional salience on the representation of spatial- and object-related information. I am the recipient of an NSERC Postgraduate Graduate Scholarship -Doctoral (PGS).

